JIS Libraries: Curriculum

Program Outcome

ES Grade K-5 Outcome

MS Grade 6-8 Outcome

HS Grade 9-12 Outcome

Understand and use of media and information systems

• Communicate about information and media resources using developmentally appropriate and accurate terminology

• Recognize and use information and media terminology accurately for most practical situations

• Apply information and media terminology appropriately in practical situations

• Demonstrate the ability to navigate in virtual environments such as electronic books, podcasts, and web sites

• Integrate a variety of media to create and illustrate a document or presentation

• Create a multimedia presentation for an assignment or project that involves a variety of file types and information sources

• Employ a range of media formats and information sources effectively

• Locate a book in all ES library sections

• Locate a book in all MS library sections

• Locate materials in various types of libraries

• Understand proper library etiquette

• Practice proper library etiquette and take responsibility for library materials

• Appreciate the impact of proper library etiquette on the school community

• Know that the library offers a variety of materials

• Appreciate the unique qualities of the various media available from the library

• Know the variety of ways in which information can be carried in both digital and print formats

• Have a basic understanding of how to use the library catalog efficiently

• Use the library catalog independently

• Use the library catalog proficiently

• Have a basic understanding of how to use internet search engines and databases

• Use internet search engines and databases independently

• Use internet search engines and databases proficiently

• Select and use the appropriate traditional and digital resources to accomplish a variety of tasks and to solve problems

• Recognize particular information needs for a task, and then make independent choices for the resources to accomplish the job

• Evaluate suitability of information and media resources for a task, and then use appropriate tools for a project of significant complexity

• Apply previous knowledge of information resources to learn uses of new sources

• Analyze and recognize similarities and differences between previous information resources and new situations.
• Use their previous experiences with information sources to expand their present knowledge involving new media technologies and information resources

• Build upon previous experiences with information sources to learn new information and media resources

Program Outcome

ES Grade K-5 Outcome

MS Grade 6-8 Outcome

HS Grade 9-12 Outcome

Interact, collaborate, and publish with peers, experts or others employing a variety of media and information tools

• Use information/media resources effectively to participate as a member of a team in order to complete class and school activities.

• Apply information/media resources to collaborate with others and share ideas, creations, and information in and out of the classroom.
• Publish to peers, experts, and others using a variety of information/media resources

• Plan and implement a complex collaborative project with others in and beyond the classroom using a wide variety of information and media resources while also employing a wide range of presentation tools

• Identify, research, and collect data on an issue using a wide variety of resources and propose a developmentally appropriate solution

• Identify, research, and collect data on an issue using a wide variety of resources and establish an informed position on the topic
•  Use information/media resources to communicate with an authentic audience and receive feedback from them

• Solve a complex problem with a wide variety of resources that has an impact beyond the classroom or curricular activity
• Use a wide variety of media/information resources to receive feedback from an authentic audience

• Recognize and use various media for information, entertainment, and persuasion
• Identify fact, fiction, and opinion in various media messages
• Recognize that all media influence individuals and society
• Create age appropriate media messages (e.g., skits, videos, advertisements)

• Analyze how media content are influenced by media form
• Analyze point of view and embedded values in media messages.
• Understand that online forums for information may be used to promote particular propaganda and attitudes.
• Illustrate how media influence the way meanings and perception of reality are created and shared.
• Screen digital information distributed online for accuracy and validity
• Design and create media messages that integrate images, sounds, graphics

• Analyze and evaluate how media forms, content and products are constructed for and will impact specific audiences
• Demonstrate how the use of various techniques and effects (e.g., editing, music, color, rhetorical devices) can be used to convey meaning in media
• Design, create, and display media messages in a variety of forms, targeting a variety of audiences and purposes

• Identify and discuss personal consequences of inappropriate use of the Internet. Describe good practices for password protection and authentication
• Demonstrate safe and cooperative use of online resources
• Have a basic understanding of authorship and copyright
• Cite sources following a simplified format
• Rrecognize that rules and laws impact the use of all media

• Communicate the importance of security and safety in the use of online resources
• Understand the different provisions of copyright depending on the format of the product and audience
• Understands plagiarism
• Cite sources using an MLA format
• Analyze the individual and social consequences of unethical use of media

• Explain issues related to the responsible use of online information sources
• Explain and employ practices to protect one's personal safety and privacy online
• Appreciate the dynamic of copyright in society
• Monitor potential plagiarism in their own work through using Safe Assignment
• Create academic papers using current MLA standards
• Assume personal accountability for responsible media use (e.g., adherence to copyright laws, proper attention to citations) and respond appropriately

Program Outcome

ES Grade 3-5 Outcome

MS Outcome

HS Outcome

Apply or use research skills to complete a task.

Use the Research Process

Defining

• select an appropriate topic within the guidelines provided by the teacher
• develop good questions for research
• Locating
• identify print and online sources of information

Selecting

• select sources using the library catalog, curriculum links and search engines
• use the architecture of non- fiction print materials and websites to access information efficiently (table of contents, hyperlinks, index, photographs, captions, paragraph headings…)

Organizing

• read informational text and extract content related to the research question
• take notes efficiently in one’s own words
• group information into topics and subtopics
• sequence topics logically

Presenting

• use the information to respond to research questions

Evaluating

• evaluate the products according to the rubrics agreed upon

Use the Research Process

Defining

• understand the assignment
• expand or narrow a topic
• develop a thesis statement

Locating

• brainstorm all possible sources
• discuss/determine which might be better
• seek appropriate help when it is needed

Selecting

• select sources using the library catalog or electronically on-line
• use indexes and tables of contents to locate information within a source
• seek appropriate help when it is needed
• evaluate the authority, accuracy, currency, bias and relevance of resources

Organizing

• collect evidence and details to support the topic
• use note-taking techniques Inspiration, (photocopying or printing and) highlighting, summarizing, and/or quoting to identify and record relevant information
• verify facts by checking another resource
• distinguish between fact and opinion in resources

Presenting

• create a well-organized product that clearly expresses ideas and provides supporting evidence.
• deliver presentations using text and appropriate technology.

Evaluating

• determine if the process was effective and efficient and if the product answers the question(s)

Use the Research Process

Defining

• develop a list of keywords/descriptors to use as search terms
• define and clarify questions
• expand or narrow a topic
• develop a purpose or thesis statement.
• identify information needed (to solve the information problem)

Locating

• determine all possible sources (brainstorm)
• locate sources (intellectually and physically)
• use indexes, tables of contents, bibliographies, and chronologies to locate information within a source

Selecting

• evaluate the authority, accuracy, currency, bias and relevance of resources, including media messages
• verify facts by checking multiple resources
• distinguish between fact and opinion in resources
• use bibliographies to find other resources
• monitor own information-seeking processes for effectiveness and progress, and adapt as necessary
• seek appropriate help when it is needed

Organizing

• use primary and secondary sources as needed
• collect evidence and details to support the topic
• use note-taking techniques (paraphrasing, summarizing, quoting) to identify and record relevant information
• interpret new information based on cultural and social context
• verify facts by checking another resource
• distinguish between fact and opinion in resources
• organize from multiple sources
• make generalizations from content and relate them to the purpose of the material
• combine ideas and information to
• develop and demonstrate new understanding

Presenting

• create a well-organized product that clearly expresses ideas and provides supporting evidence
• determine the best presentation format for a topic
• deliver planned informative and persuasive presentations using visual aids and contemporary technology

Evaluating

• develop personal criteria for gauging how effectively own ideas are expressed
• devise strategies for revising and improving process and produc

Plan and manage activities to develop a solution or complete a project

• select and use appropriate media/information resources to seek solutions to a range of classroom learning activities.
• select and apply information/media resources to collect, organize, and analyze data to evaluate theories or test hypotheses

• select and use appropriate media/information resources to seek solutions to a range of classroom learning activities.
• select and apply information/media resources to collect, organize, and analyze data to evaluate theories or test hypotheses

Program Outcome

ES Grade K-5 Outcome

MS Grade 6-8 Outcome

HS Outcome

Use information/media resources to support learning and personal growth

• Demonstrates independent browsing and selection of resources
• Recognizes research is a systematic process
• Uses technology to access information

Knows the organizational structure of the library for personal use

Knows the organizational structure of the library and utilizes the library for personal needs