Skip to main content

JIS Libraries: Role of the Collection

JIS Librarians

Matthew Schafer- High School

Kathryn Calzini- Middle School

Leslie Henry- PEL

Sarah Pickles- PIE

Role of the Collection

The collection is being developed to:

  • support the JIS instructional program.
  • satisfy the educational needs of all the members of our student body, faculty, and staff.
  • ensure every student has access to a variety of quality, relevant, and current information resources.
  • meet the recreational reading needs of our students, reflecting their personal growth and developmental needs.
  • provide resources in print, audio-visual and electronic formats to support, enrich, and enhance the curriculum, taking into consideration the varied learning needs and styles, recreational and study interests and maturity levels of the students.
  • provide materials which will enable the acquisition of factual knowledge and the development of literary appreciation, aesthetic values, and ethical standards.
  • provide materials offering a breadth and diversity of viewpoints on various issues so that students may develop their critical thinking skills and make informed judgments.
  • provide materials representative of our diverse student body.
  • enhance teachers' effectiveness by providing access to recent curriculum and professional development materials.
  • place principle and reason above personal prejudice in the selection of the highest quality materials to ensure a comprehensive collection suitable for the needs of its users.

Our collection contains:

  • fiction books, magazines, comics, picture books and novels of all genres to cater for the students from pre-school to young adult.
  • non-fiction titles to support the curriculum and to extend students’ knowledge.
  • a reference collection to provide continuous access to basic knowledge.
  • a professional reference collection to support the curriculum and to enhance professional growth.

Whilst the bulk of the collection is in print format, audio, visual, and electronic resources form an important part of it. We have an extensive video collection of both fiction and non-fiction titles.

The library websites are also an integral part of our collection and pages containing links to pre-selected sites about specific topics are created to support curriculum delivery. These are available on the site to enable student access from home.