Skip to main content

HS Library: Academic Databases

Subscription Academic Databases

All Gale Databases

One can access and cross-reference search all JIS Gale Databases here. 

Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale's Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context empowers users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective.   Global Issues in Context supports research in virtually every corner of the library and in a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women’s studies, human rights, English composition and many more.

Gale In Context: High School

Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale In Context: Biography

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text

Gale In Context: Science

Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia

Gale Literature

Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Gale OneFile: High School Edition provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for middle- and high-school students to use for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a range of subjects—from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

Gale OneFile: News

This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

Gale Literature: LitFinder

Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Gale Books and Authors

Gale Books and Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

ERIC- the Education Resource Information Center

ERIC provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations.

 

 

World Book Online Reference Center

The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.  The JIS Libraries subscribe to numerous World Book sources appropriate to every level including World Book Advanced, World Book Student and World Book Kids

NewsBank

NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. 

Questia

(NOTE:  Questia will cease  December 2020)

Questia provides 24/7 access to the one of the world’s largest online collection of books and journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, plus magazine and newspaper articles. 

WebPath Express

WebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 105,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.

Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete

Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy

National Geographic Virtual Library

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.

Digital Theatre Plus

"At Digital Theater we believe the arts are for everyone.  ...we want to bring live performance into every classroom and library, accompanied by a range of invaluable educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection...  Digital Theatre+ is already the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts...with unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources."

Teen Health and Wellness

Teen Health & Wellness,  an award-winning, critically acclaimed online resource, provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support. Topics include diseases, nutrition, mental health, bullying, green living, financial literacy, chemical abuse, and more.

Artfilms-Digital Streaming Video

Artfilms-Digital is the video streaming service of Contemporary Arts Media where one can watch art films online anytime, anywhere.  The collection includes masterclasses, documentaries, interviews, content that can entertain, educate and inform: Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers in the humanities and the arts. 

Gale Interactive: Science

Users can manipulate and explore 3D interactive models, allowing students to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth and space science. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy

Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

Gale Interactive: Chemistry

Users can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

All residents of Indonesia (citizens and those with KITAS) may apply for membership to the National Library of Indonesia (NLoI).  This includes full access to a massive digital library featuring a wealth of powerful English language academic databases from Proquest, Ebsco, Science Direct, and others.  One will also find thousands of eBooks and archives of Indonesian art, government documents, and other artifacts.  

Detailed membership application instructions are found here.

Open Access Academic Databases

Open Access refers to resources such as magazines and journals that are free to the public to view and use for research.  The authors/creators still retain their copyrights just as one would for paid resources.

ResearchGate

Access millions of publications and connect with 15+ million researchers for free! Discover scientific knowledge, and make your research visible.

Academia

Join over 10.5 million Academics and Researchers to access millions of scholarly articles for free! Academia is the easiest way to share papers with millions of people across the world for free.

CORE

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)

High Wire (Stanford University)

ScienceOpen

Digital Commons Network