Before exploring the online resources at the National Library of Indonesia, one may want to install the Google Translate plugin/extension in their browser. Although much of the National Library's website includes English options, for some Google Translate will be invaluable.
As you explore the resources available through your NLoI, be sure to check out these great databases for academic research. Please note the icons below are not links as one will need to access these databases while logged in to the NLoI website.
Proquest is a leader in academic research. The NLoI subscribes to 16 indexes covering every topic.
Ebsco is another big player in academic research. The NLoI subscribes to 25 indexes covering every topic.
One of the premier tools for searching the social sciences.
Britannica Library is an online encyclopedia for all levels of learners.
Science Direct features full access to thousands of journals in the physical, life, and social sciences.
Should you need assistance completing the National Library of Indonesia Member Registration form or help with any of these online resources, please contact Matthew Schafer- High School Librarian or the High School Library staff.
Perpustakaan Nasional Republik Indonesia
Jl. Medan Merdeka Selatan No.11
Jakarta 10110 Indonesia
Monday - Friday 08.30 - 18.00 WIB
Saturday - Sunday 09.00 - 16.00 WIB
Closed on Holidays
Before starting an Online Member registration, be sure to have the following information on hand:
Step 1: Visit the National Library of Indonesia (NLoI) website. Note in the top right corner users may choose Bahasa Indonesia or English.
Step 2: Scroll and find the NLoI Services Menu and choose the "K-OL Online Member Registration" option.
Step 3: Register to become a member by clicking the Purple "Daftar" box on the login screen.
Step 4: Agree to the terms by checking the box and clicking "Lanjutkan Pendaftaran." Use Google Translate as needed.
Step 5: Complete the Member Registration Form. Expatriates should use the English version.
Step 6: You will be given a Membership Number that is your username. Be sure to store it somewhere safe in case you lose it- perhaps email it to yourself.
Step 7: Use your new number and the password you created to login to the NLoI's online resources. Return to the main webpage and select E-RES from the Services Menu.
Step 8: Login (Masuk) with your new library number and the password you created.
Step 9: Once you are in you will have access to a number of powerful databases, digital libraries, and eBook collections. Please note one can only access these sites through the NLoI's web page as described above.
iPusnus is the National Library of Indonesia's eBook collection and social media platform. Registration takes only a few minutes and is well worth the effort. Begin by installing the app on an iPhone, Android phone, or laptop. Then create an account using one's email address and NLoI credentials. Once complete, users will be able to access literally thousands of English and Indonesian eBooks for all ages and interests.
Please note that those without Bahasa Indonesia may find success with Google Translate, but are very welcome and encouraged to visit the High School Library and register with the help of our staff.