|
Gale Database
|
Access information is available to members of the JIS community here. |
Topics Covered
|
|
In Context: High School
|
- Science and Technology: Biology, chemistry, physics, space exploration, and climate change.
- Social Studies: U.S. and world history, geography, government, and economics.
- Literature and the Arts: Literary analysis, biographies of writers and artists, and art movements.
- Health and Wellness: Physical and mental health, nutrition, and teen well-being.
- Current Events and Issues: News, social issues, and pro/con perspectives on debates.
- Biographies: Profiles of influential figures across various fields.
- World Cultures and Religion: Global customs, traditions, and religious studies.
- Mathematics and STEM: Math concepts and STEM advancements.
- Career and Life Skills: Career guidance, college prep, and life skills.
- Arts and Entertainment: Film, music, theater, and pop culture analysis.
|
|
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
|
- Current Issues: Covers topics like climate change, immigration, gun control, and healthcare.
- Social Issues: Focuses on racism, gender equality, LGBTQ+ rights, and social justice.
- Pro/Con Arguments: Offers balanced viewpoints on controversial subjects to aid in critical thinking.
- Global Perspectives: Provides viewpoints on international conflicts, foreign policy, and global trends.
- Technology: Discusses issues like AI, genetic engineering, renewable energy, and space exploration.
- Law and Politics: Examines legal cases, civil rights, government policies, and political ideologies.
- Health and Wellness: Debates around mental health, public health policies, and medical ethics.
- Crime and Justice: Covers topics such as criminal justice reform, drug policy, and prison systems.
- Economics and Business: Discusses economic policies, job markets, and corporate practices.
- Education: Debates on curriculum standards, school policies, and access to education.
|
|
In Context: Global Issues
|
- Environment and Climate: Covers climate change, pollution, renewable energy, and conservation efforts.
- Politics and Government: Focuses on international relations, human rights, diplomacy, and global conflicts.
- Economy and Trade: Discusses global markets, trade agreements, economic development, and financial crises.
- Health and Medicine: Covers global health issues, pandemics, healthcare systems, and medical advancements.
- Culture and Society: Explores cultural diversity, immigration, global movements, and social norms.
- Science and Technology: Discusses innovations, cybersecurity, space exploration, and scientific discoveries.
- Human Rights: Focuses on issues like refugees, gender equality, freedom of speech, and civil liberties.
- Conflict and War: Analyzes ongoing conflicts, peace efforts, and the impacts of war around the world.
- Energy and Resources: Discusses energy production, natural resource management, and sustainable practices.
- Education and Literacy: Explores global education systems, access to learning, and educational disparities.
|
|
In Context: Science
|
- Life Sciences: Covers biology, ecology, genetics, and environmental science.
- Physical Sciences: Focuses on physics, chemistry, astronomy, and earth sciences.
- Health and Medicine: Discusses human anatomy, diseases, medical advances, and public health.
- Technology and Innovation: Explores AI, robotics, engineering, and space exploration.
- Scientific Discoveries: Highlights breakthroughs, notable experiments, and contributions from scientists throughout history.
|
|
In Context: Environmental Studies
|
- Climate and Weather: Focuses on climate change, global warming, extreme weather, and forecasting.
- Energy and Resources: Discusses renewable energy, fossil fuels, conservation, and sustainable practices.
- Ecosystems and Biodiversity: Covers wildlife, habitats, endangered species, and ecosystem management.
- Pollution and Waste: Addresses air, water, and soil pollution, waste management, and recycling.
- Environmental Policy: Explores regulations, international agreements, and efforts to address environmental issues globally.
|
|
In Context: World History
|
- Ancient Civilizations: Covers societies like Egypt, Greece, Rome, and early Asian and African cultures.
- Medieval and Renaissance: Focuses on the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and key historical figures and events.
- Revolutions and Empires: Discusses events like the French Revolution, American Revolution, and the rise and fall of empires.
- World Wars and Conflicts: Examines World War I, World War II, and other major global conflicts and their impacts.
- Modern History: Explores post-war developments, decolonization, globalization, and contemporary global issues.
|
|
In Context: Biography
|
- Historical Figures: Covers influential leaders, activists, and thinkers from ancient times to the present.
- Artists and Writers: Focuses on the lives and contributions of notable authors, poets, painters, and musicians.
- Scientists and Innovators: Highlights groundbreaking scientists, inventors, and explorers who have shaped our world.
- World Leaders: Profiles presidents, prime ministers, monarchs, and other political leaders throughout history.
- Cultural Icons: Explores the lives of sports legends, entertainers, and social influencers who have made a cultural impact.
|
|
Gale Literature Resource Center
|
- Authors and Poets: Covers biographies and analysis of major writers, poets, and playwrights from around the world.
- Literary Movements: Focuses on the history and significance of movements like Romanticism, Modernism, and Realism.
- Literary Criticism: Provides analyses and critical essays on classic and contemporary works of literature.
- Genres and Themes: Explores different literary genres, such as fiction, drama, poetry, and recurring themes in literature.
- Notable Works: Highlights summaries, overviews, and interpretations of important literary works across all periods and cultures.
|
