Periodicals are publications that come out regularly, such as daily, weekly, monthly, quatarly, or yearly. They include newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, and even multimedia like TV shows and podcasts that are released on a regular schedule. Each new issue or episode contains updated content, like articles, stories, reports, or shows, and they cover a wide range of topics or very subject specific. Periodicals are often used for research because they provide current information about events, trends, and various subjects.
Credit: Syracuse University Library
In the academic world, we often use academic databases to find and research periodicals. These databases are like online libraries that give access to a wide range of periodicals, including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. They help students and researchers find credible, up-to-date information on various subjects, making it easier to gather reliable sources for projects, papers, and studies. Using academic databases ensures that the periodicals you access are trustworthy and relevant for academic work.
Academic databases are considered trustworthy because they contain sources that have gone through careful review and editing processes. Many of the periodicals found in these databases, especially scholarly journals, are peer-reviewed, meaning that experts in the field evaluate the content before it is published to ensure accuracy, quality, and reliability. Additionally, the content in academic databases is carefully selected by librarians and professionals who choose sources based on their credibility and relevance to academic research. These databases also include detailed citation information, allowing users to verify the original sources. With content from reputable publishers and research institutions, academic databases are a reliable choice for thorough and accurate research.
At JIS, our four main databases are Gale In Context, Proquest Research Library, JSTOR, and Newsbank.
 |
 |
 |
 |
Usernames and Passwords are Available to JIS Community Members Here.