Grade 8 - Health - Resources: Nutrition and Fitness

This book explains how climate change and lack of water affect crops, making it difficult to feed people, especially in impoverished areas. Also discussed are potential solutions on how to grow and distribute food more efficiently and how to help farmers thrive.

Has the connection between body size and overall health been overstated for decades? This book examines how our dogged efforts to eradicate obesity may be doing more harm than good and explores alternative ways to measure and encourage health.

Examines the most current scientific studies and provides in-depth information on heart disease and a healthy diet.

Helps readers determine whether they have a negative body image, understand the roots and potential dangers of such thinking, and learn to overcome the problem and accept and celebrate their bodies.

Provides insight into the sources of [body shaming], how to confront someone who body shames, and ways to cultivate a positive body image

Corporate farms have solved so many of the world's problems. In addition to making healthy food accessible and affordable to more people, they provide jobs in communities that sorely need them, but do corporations have too much power over food? Do they benefit from unfair tax breaks? Are their profit-driven practices hurting the environment, perhaps irreparably?

Discusses the use of over-the-counter, prescription, and herbal diet drugs and explains their relation to eating disorders and proper nutrition.

Did you know that an 18th century Swedish king ate himself to death at a feast? Or that Maria Callas swallowed a tapeworm to try to control her weight? People throughout the ages have turned to bizarre dietary regimes to shape their bodies. This book covers so many interesting moments in food history, from cannibals to fasting, moral diets to extreme weight loss, fad diets to war rationing, and the diagnosis of eating disorders to Elvis.

Describes the causes, symptoms, and treatment of diabetes and discusses the long-term health risks associated with this disease.

According to the C.D.C., more than 30 million people in the United States have diabetes, and 1 in 4 of them don't know they have it. This must-have guidebook offers young readers and researchers a means of understanding diabetes and its ramifications.

Readers will learn about the history of this disease, sometimes called the sugar disease. They will also learn about treatments, from diet and exercise to insulin therapy and transplants.

The United Nations supports a compelling solution to world hunger: eat insects! Explore the vast world of unexpected foods that may help solve the global hunger crisis. Weeds, wild plants, invasive and feral species, and bugs are all food for thought. Learn about the nutritional value of various plant and animal species.

Argues how climate change is affected by the food industry and how dieting can help cut down on pollution.

A discussion of eating disorders, explaining what they are, looking at different types of eating problems, encouraging young people to seek help from a trusted adult, and providing coping strategies.

Identifies obesity as a health crisis of epidemic proportions in the United States, provides information about calories and nutrients, and discusses the role of fast food in perpetuating the weight problem, with advice on how to fight the fast food habit.

A guide to eating healthy for young athletes, including more than thirty recipes for nutritious meals and snacks.

Discusses the flu, covering different ones, how it is treated, and how it can be prevented.

Explores food additives.

Investigates the journey from the farm to the fridge, and it provides information about what you can do to keep your food as safe as possible.

Explores the history of genetic modification and the development of scientific processes used to enhance what we eat. Potential benefits and dangers of genetically altered food are explored.

Genetically Modified Organisms can be difficult to understand. These laboratory-modified plants and animals are a controversial part of the agricultural industry, and a person's diet. This book explores the pros and cons of these modified crops, such as corn, rice, and soybeans.

Provides nutrition information to inform students as they learn the roles nutrients play in their health throughout the life cycle. Content on food selection, storage, preparation, and service gives students the tools needed to recognize and follow a nutritionally balanced diet.

Nutrition Basics helps readers understand and trace the history of nutrition, explore the science behind it, and discuss controversies from an objective viewpoint. The title will engage readers on the topic and help them to weigh the pros and cons as they make their own food decisions. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

Introduces readers to the basic items on a nutrition label, such as serving size and nutrients. Readers will learn how to use this information to make healthful food choices. Additional features to aid comprehension include a table of contents, labeled diagrams, a quiz and answer key, a phonetic glossary, an index, sources for further research, and an introduction to the author.

A detailed discussion of the causes and treatments of heart diseases.

A guide to understanding heart disease, covering the various conditions associated with having heart disease, the causes, possible treatments, and information on prevention techniques.

An introduction to eating disorders.

Explores diabetes in children, including the cause, symptoms, treatment, and what it's like to live with it.

Explains what is means to organic, and it looks at the environmental, economic, and health issues involved in this trend.

While osteoporosis or porous bones may not be a concern for your students as it is an aging disease, there are still things they can do to ensure that the gradual bone loss that will occur in their lives can be staved off. Because it's a common condition, it will touch their lives through people the love.

Examines what it is like to have osteoporosis, describes what the disease is, reviews its history, and discusses diagnosis and treatment options.

An introduction to processed foods, health risks, and healthy eating.

Discusses nutrition and dieting during teenage years, looking at what a balanced diet should be, what is considered healthy weight loss and more.

Provides information about type 2 diabetes and offers dietary steps sufferers can take to help control the disease as well as recipes.

An introduction to GMOs and the controversy around them.

Discusses how virtual reality can be used in medicine.

Examines the issues surrounding obesity, discussing the associated health risks, and providing tips and suggestions for people to improve their physical health. Includes time lines, maps and primary sources.

Puberty is a critical time for young adults in forming a positive self-image. They are constantly bombarded with images and comments regarding ideal body types from the media, friends, and family. Through charts and full-color photographs, readers gain information about the subjectivity of beauty standards and the importance of being healthy regardless of body type. The material engages readers and allows them to think critically about the stereotypes they are subjected to. A list of websites is included to offer them assistance in dealing with the pressure of conforming to expectations.