Grade 8 - Health - Resources: Relationships and Sexual Health

Looks at the fluency of gender/sexual orientation accompanied by stories of gay, transgender, etc. people

Provides an overview of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and questioning community, along with defintions of terms for additional information and support.

An autobiography of Jazz Jennings in which she shares her experiences of transitioning for male to female and becoming an advocate for transgender youth.

An autobiography of Jazz Jennings in which she shares her experiences of transitioning for male to female and becoming an advocate for transgender youth.

Six teens tell what it is like for them to be members of the transgender community.

A biography of athlete and television personality Caitlyn Jenner, focusing on her struggle to come to terms with her gender identity and her role as an advocate for transgender individuals

THE BESTSELLING GROWING-UP GUIDE FOR PRETEENS AND TEENS Why is my voice changing? When will I get hair on my face? Is this normal? This fact-filled journal and activity book makes it fun for boys to find answers to their many questions about the physical and emotional changes that accompany puberty. With quizzes, checklists, games,and illustrations throughout, My Body, My Self for Boys also includes journal pages and lots of personal stories addressing boys' concerns, experiences, and feelings during this new stage of their lives.

Going through puberty can be a challenging time for adolescents. This book explains how hormones cause various changes in the body for both boys and girls, as well as advice on how to cope with them. Useful tips are highlighted on how to handle topics from persistent pimples to the most effective shaving methods. Readers will also gain insight on how to deal with stress at home and at school. Medical and technical terms are defined, and health is emphasized throughout.

A body-positive guide to help girls ages 8 to 12 navigate the changes of puberty Puberty can be a difficult time for a young girl―and it's natural not to know who (or what) to ask. Celebrate Your Body is a reassuring entry into puberty books for girls that encourages girls to face puberty with excitement and empowerment. From period care to mysterious hair in new places, this age-appropriate sex education book has the answers you're looking for―in a way you can relate to. Covering everything from bras to braces, this body-positive top choice in books about puberty for girls offers friendly guidance and support when you need it most. In addition to tips on managing intense feelings, making friends, and more, you'll get advice on what to eat and how to exercise so your body is healthy, happy, and ready for the changes ahead. Puberty explained―Discover what happens, when it happens, and why your body (and mind) is amazing in every way. Social skills―Learn how to stand up to peer pressure, stay safe on social media, and keep the right kind of friends. Self-care tips―Choose the right foods, exercises, and sleep schedule to keep your changing body at its best with advice you won't find in other puberty books for girls. This inclusive option in puberty books for girls is the ultimate guide to facing puberty with confidence.

A how-to guide to dating, relationships, and sex for teenage boys.

Discusses teenage pregnancy, including its causes, social factors that contribute to teen pregnancy, if it is a public health problem, and the various options for pregnant teens

Readers will learn to identify, avoid, and repair damage done by a sextortionist by reading about case studies, advice from the FBI and Interpol, and the latest in cybersecurity techniques

As acceptance for the LGBT community grows, our society is coming to understand that many gender identities are not binary. Young adulthood is a critical time for exploring and coming to terms with gender identity. Readers learn about non-binary identities and the issues the community still faces despite the progress that has been made in the 21st century. Fact boxes highlight transgender and non-binary role models in the media, and contact information for LGBT organizations is provided

Offers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender teens, as well as those questioning their sexuality, information and practical advice to help them deal with the issues they may face with their families, at school, and within contemporary society.

Provides resources for teens who are exploring their gender and identify as transgender or gender expansive or are just beginning to question their gender.

This book presents a real-world look at how American families are changing and helps teen readers gain an understanding of what it is like to be part of an LGBT family

Helps readers recognize sexual harassment when they experience or see it. They will learn about the power in calling out sexual harassment, that they are not alone, and how to help themselves and others heal

THE BESTSELLING GROWING-UP GUIDE FOR PRETEENS AND TEENS What's happening to my body? Is this normal? This fact-filled journal and activity book makes it fun for girls to find answers to their many questions about the physical and emotional changes that accompany puberty. With quizzes, checklists, games, and illustrations throughout, My Body, My Self for Girls also includes journal pages and lots of personal stories addressing girls' concerns, experiences, and feelings during this new stage of their lives.

When will I get boobs? Does wearing a tampon hurt? What's the deal with menstrual cups? Seriously, when will I get boobs? There's no doubt that going through puberty is one of the scariest, messiest, and most confusing times in a girl's life. It's no wonder there are so many questions. And for most girls, it's hard to know where to go for reliable, fact-based straight talk, no pastel-colored sugar coating. Enter The HelloFlo Guide to Puberty, a smart and savvy new guide that's definitely not your mother's puberty book. Insightful, honest, funny, and unafraid of the messy real-life facts about a girl's changing body, HelloFlo strives to create informed, empowered young women who are unafraid to ask questions and make the best choices for themselves and their bodies. This is a celebration of women's bodies and all the confusing, uncomfortable, silly, transformative, and powerful changes that occur during puberty.

Discusses the many types of LGBT families and shows how being different need not be an impediment to being happy

Describes the female body's changes during puberty and provides information and guidance for young girls on sexuality, intercourse, the decision to become sexually active, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, and related issues such as harassment and rape.

Sex educator and YouTube star Laci Green provides a guide to sex, sexuality, pleasure, and the body.

Contains the personal stories of several transgender people.

Offers students an overview of various topics related to sexually transmitted infections, including prevention programs targeting teens, complications that can arise with an infection, and what can increase the risk of getting one.

The "S" Word Combining humour and sensitivity, James Roy presents a book that will help any young man navigate the confusing minefield of his teenage years.

Addresses some of the challenges faced by gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender teens, offering advice on how to come out to family and friends, develop a social life, deal with homophobia, and other topics, and includes personal testimonies.

This friendly book talks to teens in their own language, with emphasis on the subject that is first and foremost in the minds of adolescent boys and girls: Sex. Separate chapters titled Boy Stuff and Girl Stuff describe body changes that occur during puberty, with frank and open discussions about male and female genitals, how they feel, and how they function. Chapters that follow discuss typical teen problems, as well as those entirely new feelings that come with sexual development, and offer tips on making it through those sometimes exciting, sometimes crazy teen years. Learn how to deal with crushes, controlling parents, pimples, kissing, dating, hormones, menstruation, sexual activity, condoms, contraception, pregnancy, STDs, sexual impulses, and more. New to this edition is information on social networks, protecting yourself online, maintaining a positive body image, mental health, sexual orientation, gender identity, and more. Includes line drawings on most pages.

The essential guide to growing up for boys!A must-have book for boys looking for straightforward advice about their changing bodies and growing up. There are answers to questions about everything from shaving, vocal changes, bad breath, smelly feet, braces, and acne, to school, sports, girls, friends, family, and more. The Body Book For Boys is complete with tips, quizzes, Q&As, and all of the essential info boys need to know.