Grade 7 - Social Studies - Resources: Unit 1 - Natural Resource Management

Evaluate what air quality means to different cultures, what air pollution's effects are, what the effects are of political and economical air pollution policy are, and what are effective strategies for reducing air pollution. Places explored include Europe, China, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Iraq, Ukraine, Kuwait, Mexico, Israel, and Iceland.

Explains how our air becomes polluted and the major sources of pollution and discusses how governments, industries, and individuals are striving to set and maintain standards to improve the air by such measures as regulation of the burning of fossil fuels and less harmful replacements, industrial effluence, cigarette smoke, aerosols, and more.

Every year, people are doing more and more to save animals facing destruction or extinction from a wide range of dangers. This series attacks some of the most important issues in wildlife conservation around the world, whether saving rhinos in Africa, trying to free captive killer whales, or, trying to make sure our pet dogs and cats are well cared for.

Describes the history of the cultivation and use of bananas including the impact on agriculture, business organizations, and the environment.

A portrait of corn that describes its physical makeup, beginnings in Mesoamerica, spread to Europe, growing and harvesting, genetic modifications, products, and diseases and pests.

Describes the history of the cultivation and use of cotton including the impact on slavery, urbanization, and industry.

Presents an illustrated history of the potato, various varieties of potatoes, how they grow, and the effects of the Irish potato famine in 1845.

Describes the history of the cultivation and use of rice including the impact on agriculture, business organizations, and the environment.

An introduction to silk, a luxury fabric, explaining where it is produced and how it is made, looking at the lives of silkworms, and discussing the ancient tradition of silk in China, as well as its use in Europe and the United States.

Describes the history of the spice trade, how it changed over time, and its impact.

Examines the process by which sugar is made, and describes where sugar cane is grown, how it has been harvested throughout history, the refining of sugar, and how it is used.

Presents an illustrated history of the tomato, how they were used in Europe during the 1500s to cure ailments, and their introduction into American culture.

An introduction to vanilla, explaining what it is, where it comes from, and the history of its use and spread throughout the world, and discussing how vanilla is grown, and its economic importance.

A portrait of wheat that describes its physical makeup; early history; importance in medieval Europe and the New World; growing, harvesting, and processing; products; and diseases and pests and discusses the Dust Bowl, the Green Revolution, and wheat's future.

Explains why tropical forests are at risk and how people are combating deforestation, encouraging sustainable agricultural practices, and preserving tropical forests.

Explains why oceans are at risk and how people are combating plastics pollution, restoring marine biodiversity, and preserving our oceans for future generations. This title also explores the science behind ocean ecosystems and ocean currents.

Explains why wetlands are at risk and how people are combating wetland destruction due to development and agriculture. This title also explores the science behind how wetlands are formed, store carbon, and clean wastewater.

Informational text, expert analysis, and seminal public documents enlighten students about the garbage situation we are facing, which not only includes mountains of food scraps and discarded possessions, but hazardous, toxic, and radioactive waste as well.

Shows how the use of fossil fuels is changing Earth's climate and what scientists are doing to find sustainable forms of energy that will secure our planet's future.

Examines the social and economic conditions of Central America and the Caribbean, and discusses challenges for the future.

Readers are introduced to the subject of climate change and how it is affecting the world around us.

Discusses how environmentalism has affected the way people think about conservation.

Explains water scarcity, pollution, the impact on public health, and how to protect this diminishing resource. Take Action boxes will show teens how they can help stop the drought.

Learn about the kind of resources Earth holds, and how they are extracted and used. Discover the problems and challenges posed by human consumption of these resources, from overfishing to dwindling supplies of fossil fuels.

With tremendous cultural and ecological diversity among and within countries spread across vast distances, challenges ahead include protecting the rights of minority peoples and charting economic development that preserves the environment.

Argues how climate change is affected by the food industry and how dieting can help cut down on pollution.

Provides answers to questions about ecosystems, covering where they are located, biodiversity, how they function, food chains, ecotourism, and more.

Presents the latest information on U.S. energy consumption and production, compared with years past. Controversial issues such as the U.S. dependence on foreign oil, the possibility of exhausting fossil fuel supplies, and the harm done to the environment by mining, drilling, and pollution are explored.

Provides information about the environment through essays, charts, and tables, discussing topics such as global warming, acid rain, the depletion and conservation of natural resources, renewable energy, and waste disposal.

Natural resource degradation in Indonesia has come with high costs - financially, culturally, physically and socially. Much of this can be attributed to inappropriate policies, market forces, power and political interests, inadequate and inappropriate development programs and policies, and also the lack of community involvement in natural resource governance.

Examines the nature of the country's pollution crisis, the Chinese people's response to it, and the efforts by the state to tackle it

In Eurasia, two countries have dominated the political, economic, and social landscape for centuries--Russia and Turkey. By sheer landmass, Russia is the largest country in the world and for decades after World War I, it was even bigger as the leader of the Soviet Union. This dictatorial, predominantly Christian empire included Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, and Ukraine. Other areas in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, and Montenegro were under Soviet influence. Often in conflict with Russia, Turkey stood apart with its democratic government and mostly Muslim population.

This volume covers the rising concerns about the degradation of the planet's ecosystems following World War II, one of the most environmentally destructive wars in history. The vast increase in the use of pesticides and other chemicals after the war signaled some of the first alarms, as did population growth and food security.

Collects essays, articles, speeches, and other documents discussing global views on garbage and recycling, garbage issues around the world, the importance of recycling, and other related topics.

Covers a wide range of topics, from global warming to air and water pollution, and the ability to sustain natural resources. It also provides a historical look at the development of the modern global economy and the role of environmental policies and regulations within a global economy.

Describes the humanitarian relief efforts of the United Nations from providing food, health care, and education when lives have been disrupted, to addressing the needs of children, and assisting refugees in conflict zones.

Looks at how increased population has affected the natural environment of the Earth, examining water, energy, and plant and animal resources, and discusses the need to protect the environment by developing sustainability.

From hackers who steal money from bank accounts around the world using little more than a laptop computer, to teams of pirates who can quickly take control of ships, yachts, and other boats, today's criminals are able to cause serious problems using new technology and techniques. Find out how these villains carry out their attacks, what law enforcement organizations are doing to stop them, and much more.

Describes how every individual produces a 'carbon footprint' by using energy made by burning fossil fuels and by creating waste from packaging that gets thrown away. Find out how to measure your own carbon footprint and see what effect you are having on Earth.

The information presented highlights at-risk animal and plant species and discusses ways readers can lessen their carbon footprint. Colorful photographs of animals and habitats transport readers to distant locations where biodiversity takes center stage.

Examines the role of science and technology in managing water, discusses the properties of water, its effects on the landscape, availability issues, pollution, and solutions, and includes case studies.

Explores the connections between natural resources and conflict through numerous case studies from around the world. This volume focuses on international conflicts, Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific.

Explores the connections between natural resources and conflict through numerous case studies from around the world. This volume focuses on the Americas, Europe, and includes key concepts.

When it comes to social progress and sustainability, the Near East faces many challenges. In this region where three major religions--Christianity, Judaism, and Islam--originated, Islam is the mostly widely followed. Religious differences have caused tensions throughout the region's history--even among those of the Islamic faith. Religion is a driving force in the governments, and some leaders have used religion to justify authoritative control--limiting democracy, individualism, and freedom.

A fascinating look at the future of our oceans--and how human actions may change them.   The Earth--our home--is covered mostly with water: the wide, deep, salty, and very blue ocean. It regulates our climate in a way that makes life as we know it possible.

North America is vast in area, rich in natural resources, and diverse in culture. It is divided into three of the world's largest countries: Canada, the United States, and Mexico. All former European colonies, today the three countries have democratic governments and enjoy many personal freedoms and constitutional rights. Economically interdependent, they form a major trading bloc where each relies on imports and exports from the other two.

Water is one of Earth's hot environmental topics. The scarcity of clean drinking water will have dramatic consequences for humanity in the 21st century: water disputes could spark regional conflict, while increased desertification and drought could affect world food supplies and the future of farming.

Most people use a gas-powered vehicle of some kind on a daily basis. But what would happen if we were to run out of gas?

Introduces the ideas and key details, including how populations grow, change, and how trends are measured. Take Action boxes suggest research activities students can do to increase their understanding of the issue.

Explores the impact that humans have had on the environment by using natural resources.

Explore beyond the headlines on the topic of the environment, learning how this issue is treated in the news and how to separate truth from spin.

From hackers who steal money from bank accounts around the world using little more than a laptop computer, to teams of pirates who can quickly take control of ships, yachts, and other boats, today's criminals are able to cause serious problems using new technology and techniques. Find out how these villains carry out their attacks, what law enforcement organizations are doing to stop them, and much more.

Rare and beautiful animals have a value all their own, but some people see exotic animals as a chance to make money. Poaching and illegally trading animals has become big business throughout the world as people capture rare animals and sell them, either as pets or even to be killed for their parts.

A collection of twenty-three essays that provides varying perspectives on issues regarding the cause of water scarcity, how water is used as a political tool, solutions for reducing water scarcity, and related topics.

Explores the causes and effects of pollution, from the dumping of toxic wastes to habitat destruction, and what we are trying to do to help our planet.

Examines the issues that affect the world's supply of freshwater in the twenty-first century, discussing whether there is enough to satisfy the demands of a growing population, and describing an alleged murder of a water scientist in New Jersey, controversy between salmon fishermen and copper miners in Alaska, poisoned wells in Wisconsin, and other related topics.

Provides information about ten unusual rivers found in different parts of the world, including the Nile, the Yangtze, the Ob', and the Congo River; discussing their formation, structure, history, composition, and more.

Explores how science is being used to create sustainable water.

This revealing and compelling title analyzes the illegal trade in endangered species from a criminological viewpoint and presents specific crime reduction techniques that could help save thousands of species from extinction.

Examines the social and economic conditions of South America and discusses challenges for the future.

The nations of South and Central Asia are as fascinating as they are diverse. Ranging from the former Soviet Republics of Central Asia to war-torn Afghanistan to the tiny mountain nation of Bhutan to the world's second-most populous country, India, the region has been shaped by millennia of conquest, population migration, and, most recently, global geopolitics.

There are more hungry people in the world than most students know. And with the human population growing every day, is there a possibility we will run out of food?

Presents the connections between the international sex and garment trades and human trafficking in a beautifully illustrated comic series.

Millions of tons of plastic slip into oceans every year. Some floats and travels slowly with the currents, endangering the health of marine animals. The rest is hardly visible but is far more dangerous. Tiny bits of plastic sprinkle the ocean's surface or mix into the sandy seafloor and beaches. It ends up inside birds, fish, and other animals, harming them-and ultimately humans.

Examines careers in the field of ecotourism, describing the roles and responsibilities of travel agents, people who write guidebooks and marketing materials, managers of ecolodges, and others.

Addresses sustainability challenges and opportunities from abundance to environmental policy. Each entry provides an overview, followed by more in-depth information discussing its scientific, societal, and sustainable context.

An exploration of the environment, covering pollution, global-scale changes, the green movement, and more.

Examines the paramount human rights issue of our time: clean drinking water. Pollution, population surge, and climate change will deprive an estimated 2 billion citizens of this fundamental right by 2050.

Discusses the topic of the disappearing rain forests, including causes and consequences, and how to protect the remaining forests.

Describes what is happening to fish, the oceans, and the environment in the early twenty-first century, explaining how commonly-consumed fish, such as tuna, cod, and salmon, are disappearing; and discusses the impact of overfishing on other species and the effects of fishing on the oceans.