| General Databases (Great for All Subjects) | ||
|
Gale In Context: Middle School Gale In Context: Middle School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context is for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
Gale's Global Issues in Context Global Issues in Context empowers users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective. Global Issues in Context supports research in virtually every corner of the library and in a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women’s studies, human rights, English composition and many more. |
|
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. |
Gale eBooks (Reference Collection) Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). |
World Book Online Reference Center The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. The JIS Libraries subscribe to numerous World Book sources appropriate to every level including World Book Advanced, World Book Student and World Book Kids |
|
BrainPop is a group of educational websites with over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12 (ages 6 to 17), together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music. |
WebPath Express is a safe, credible, and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 105,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content. |
Newsela is an online news-as-literacy platform that features high-interest articles on everything from current events to myths and legends and from literature to science. All articles are available in five Lexile levels, ranging (roughly) from third to 12th grade. Each leveled text features a quiz tailored to that particular article plus a writing prompt that asks students to write and respond to what they've read. |
| Science Databases | ||
|
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia |
PowerKnowledge Physical Science PowerKnowledge Physical Science is an online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6. Comprised of curriculum-correlated content, PowerKnowledge Physical Science promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills while offering research, report, and homework help. |
|
PowerKnowledge Life Science is an online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6. Comprised of curriculum-correlated content, PowerKnowledge Life Science promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills while offering research, report, and homework help. |
PowerKnowledge Earth and Space PowerKnowledge Earth & Space Science is an online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6. Comprised of curriculum-correlated content, PowerKnowledge Earth & Space Science promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills while offering research, report, and homework help. |
Users can manipulate and explore 3D interactive models, allowing students to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding. |
|
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding. |
Users can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding. |
|
| English/Literature Databases | ||
|
Gale Literature brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews. |
Gale Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. |
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more. |
|
Gale Books and Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation. |
Health and Wellness Databases | |
|
Teen Health & Wellness, an award-winning, critically acclaimed online resource, provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular, and self-help support. Topics include diseases, nutrition, mental health, bullying, green living, financial literacy, chemical abuse, and more. |
KidsHealth has accurate health information about kids and teens. Learn about health, behavior, and development, from pregnancy until adulthood. |
|
| National Geographic Databases | Biographies | |
|
National Geographic Virtual Library As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. |
National Geographic Virtual Library As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. |
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text |
| Other Specialized Databases | ||
|
World Atlas World Atlas features well-researched and entertaining content on geography (including world maps), science, current events, and more. |
CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. |
Through our website, ProCon.org, we serve as a non-biased information source for our users. We present sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by our research staff and editors. |
