Grade 6 - Social Studies - Resources: Unit 1 - Technology / Conflict

With a bit of programming and some high-tech science, 3-D printers can use a wide variety of materials such as plastic or wood to create an infinite amount of different creations. This book explores the science behind this incredible technology, including the history of 3-D printing and what scientists hope to achieve with these unique tools. Whether used for art, medicine, or just to make something cool at home, 3-D printing is poised to have a remarkable impact on our lives, and this book chronicles the technology's journey from concept to reality.

A look at artificial intelligence, covering its use in work, play, education, care of the elderly, and other areas as well as issues related to AI, such as accidents caused by self-driving cars, independent rights and responsibilities of intelligent systems, and more.

Artificial intelligence promises to make our lives easier and better. Learn about the accelerated pace of technology as things that were once science fiction become science fact.

This book explores the history of artificial intelligence (A.I.), and how science fiction is quickly becoming science fact. It examines the technologies involved in A.I. and its inevitable effects on work, life, health, and many other aspects of human society,... raises important ethical issues, and challenges how we see ourselves and our mechanical and computer creations.

A collection of essays from a variety of perspectives examine the topic of artificial intelligence.

Text and color illustrations explore the pain and suffering animals face during experiments for medical procedures, cosmentics, and drug, and the scientists and animal-rights groups working to find alternative methods.

Chronicles the history of the atomic bomb and discusses events happening around the world during its creation. Includes a time line and an index.

Explores questions related to animal rights, discussing the status of animals in relation to people, whether animals should have legal rights, and the ethics of using animals for food, and for experimentation.

Text and color illustrations explore space exploration, as well as the advantages, opportunities, and mysteries resources from spaceflight provide.

Explores pros and cons of several issues related to cell phones including; effects on relationships, addictive habits, and child use. Aligns with Common Core Language Arts Anchor Standards for Reading Informational Text, Speaking and Listening. Text contains critical thinking components for social issues and history.

Through firsthand interviews, ... [teaches young readers] how cyberwarriors protect our nation's information networks and how to prepare for a career in cybersecurity in the military.

Discusses what it takes to be a spy in the modern technological age.

Presents an introduction to different types of computer-based crime, and discusses the efforts of law enforcement officials to find and stop cyberspace criminals.

Relatable text introduces readers to cyber mobs, groups of people intent on humiliating someone online.

Describes cyberbullying and ways to prevent or stop cyberbullying attacks"--Provided by publisher.

Offers an ... introduction to the concept of social media anxiety, dispelling many widespread myths and replacing them with up-to-date facts, ... help[s] readers identify whether they are experiencing social media anxiety, and offers them reliable strategies for dealing with it if they are.

Explores the benefits and drawbacks of animal testing.

Explores the benefits and drawbacks of playing video games.

Looks at drones, explaining what they are, the various types of drones out there, how they are used, and more.

Text and color illustrations explore the history of astronomy, and the instruments, conclusions, and observations they drew on to explore outer space.

This book explores the history of guns as it applies to the Second Amendment and the effects of gun violence on society. Gun control and legislation in the United States on federal, state, and local levels are thoughtfully addressed without taking sides on this controversial issue. Sidebars highlight the NRA, the ongoing debate about gun control legislation, and what today's youth can do to help.

Provides information on computer hacking and hacking as a career in the security department of a company or government agency.

Answers questions about teenagers and texting, discussing what sexting and flaming are and ways to stop electronic harassment.

Presents safety issues in fish as food, covering fishing conditions, processing, shipping, selling conditions, and what you can do to make smart choices.

Presents an introduction to intelligence agencies, discusses the recruitment, work, and tools used by intelligence agents, and examines the history and role of key intelligence agencies throughout the world, including the U.S., Britain, France, Germany, and Israel.

Looks at the history of television, from its origins to its contemporary expressions, exploring its impact on society, and what makes some shows cultural events.

Explains how internal combustion automobiles work, the advantages and disadvantages of electric and hybrid automobiles and how they work, how to reduce carbon emissions, and what to expect in the future.

Presents a collection of articles that discuss varied perspectives on topics related to the impact that the giant technology companies have.

Provides the latest information about genetic engineering, stem cells, heredity, and the idea that humans may be able to manipulate the process of reproduction to create the offspring they desire.

An introduction describing the three biggest platforms: Tumblr, Blogger, and WordPress, covering how to get started with a blogger profile, writing the first post, adding photos and video, customization, widgets, and more.

The creation of the atom bomb, and the nuclear arms race that followed its use in World War II, shaped the consciousness of generations. Primary and secondary source materials such as contemporary photos, speeches, letters, and newspaper accounts are examined, offering insight into the Manhattan Project, the dropping of the first atomic bombs, and the escalation of the arms race, as well as nuclear treaties and the relevance to today's nuclear threats.

Explores threats to online security and how to prevent crimes.

Examines the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports.

Computers and other types of technology have changed our lives in ways never imagined. Computers help us work better and faster. Readers will learn about the many positive impacts of computers in society. They'll also read about the many negative impacts, such as threats to our privacy and security and a potential decrease in physical activity. Students will be encouraged to think about the role technology plays in their everyday lives.

Explores developments in robotic technology, discussing the differences between robots developed to look like humans and complex thinking machines designed to play chess or build cars, and explores the potential future robots have to change the world.

Introduces young readers to smartphones, discussing how they work and what they are used for.

Social networking has become an integral part of our lives in this modern society. Nearly every young adult has one or more types of social accounts, making it imperative to inform them about the best ways to protect themselves and their private information. Discussions about online predators and the rights students have on the Internet are highlighted by fact boxes, and a list of dialogue questions encourages conversations among young adults about how to be proactive in protecting themselves online.

More than 2.2 billion people worldwide are active on social media--a full 30 percent of the global population. In this book readers will learn how Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, and other social media, have become an integral part of people's lives, affecting their attitudes, relationships, mental health.

Provides opposing views on issues related to social media.

Provides . . . trivia about popular video games

Explore the immersive world of virtual reality and the related technology needed to bring a full-body experience to movies, television shows, and video games.

Explores the knowledge, engineering, and data needed for artificial intelligence (AI), a branch of computer science aimed at creating machines with the ability to perform tasks meants for humans.