Skip to main content

Databases: Home

BrainPop 
BrainPop Jr 
BrainPOP  is a group of educational websites with hundreds of short animated movies for students in grades K-12 (ages 6 to 17) covering the subjects of  science , social studies, English ,  mathematics ,  arts  and  music , and  health  and  technology . In addition to BrainPOP.com for older children, we also subscribe to BrainPOP Jr. for younger children (grades K-3), BrainPOP Español, and BrainPOP Francais.
 

Gale’s Student Resources in Context 
Provides access to a wide range of topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Gale's Global Issues in Context-
Global Issues in Contextempowers users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective. 

Issues and countries form the core of this dynamic product, which uses a wealth of resources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events. Global Issues in Context supports research in virtually every corner of the library and in a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women’s studies, human rights, English composition and many more. 

Image Quest - 
Image Quest contains more than two million images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use—ideal for use in lessons plans, student projects, school Web sites, and beyond.



JSTOR- Patrons must register individual accounts. It can only be accessed from campus.


JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.  JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. 


National Geographic Society Publications Index
The NGS Publications Index contains bibliographic records that describe the content of a product such as a magazine article, a map supplement, a book, a film/video, or an educational product. Descriptions include title, date, page(s), subjects, contributor(s), and in some cases, notes. The time period for which each item is indexed is noted, along with any other pertinent information.

Soundzabound-
Soundzabound is  royalty free music library which meets
all the licensing and technology requirements needed for education. The Soundzabound Music Library offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects 
for grades K -12 and universities that ensures copyright safety. 
They are perfect for podcasts, PowerPoint™, videos, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling,
presentations, TV broadcasts, web design and more.

Teen Health and Wellness
Teen Health & Wellness,  an award winning, critically acclaimed online resource, provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support. Topics include diseases, nutrition, mental health, bullying, green living, financial literacy, chemical abuse, and more.

TumbleBook Library- TumbleBook Library is an online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book. The site always features a number of titles in French, Spanish, and Chinese. There is also a section dedicated to math stories.

TumbleBook Cloud
TumbleBookCloud is a collection of online read-alongmiddle/high/young adult level eBooks in categories such as graphic novels,early readers, chapter books, teen fiction, classics, and drama/poetry. The read-alongs highlight the sentences as they are narrated aloud, turn the page automatically, and offer the ability to customize one's screen by changing the font size and screen/text color, to name just a few options.

TWIG- TWIG is a comprehensive database of brand new three minute films, combining rigorous research w stunning visuals to support science topics.  TWIG features over 600 films and supporting materials.

World Book Online Reference Center
The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.  The JIS Libraries subscribe to numerous World Book sources appropriate to every level including World Book Advanced, World Book Student and World Book Kids

Librarian