MS Professional Resources - New Jan 2019: General

Kelly [Gallagher] and Penny [Kittle] mapped out a year of engaging literacy practices aligned to their core beliefs about what matters most. They share their insights on managing time tasks and offer teaching strategies for engaging students in both whole class and independent work

This guide defines ten behaviors or mindframes for teachers to adopt in order to maximize student success. Includes questionnaires, scenarios, checklists, and exercises to help implement these mindframes.

Grounded in contemporary, evidence-based research, the second edition of Assessment for Teaching provides a comprehensive introduction to assessment and teaching in primary and secondary school settings. Taking a practical approach to assessment and the collaborative use of data in the classroom, this text advances a developmental model of assessment which aims to improve student outcomes through targeted teaching interventions. Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research, this edition features expanded content on collaborative teaching, competence assessment, learning and assessment and self-regulated teaching and learning. Each chapter features learning objectives, reflective questions, an extended exercise to link course content with classroom practice, and end-of-chapter rubrics which help readers assess their own understanding and learning. Written by a team of experts from the Assessment Research Centre at the University of Melbourne, Assessment for Teaching is an essential resource for both preservice teachers and inservice teachers.

Discusses teen behavior, focusing on teaching teens to become successful learners, in school and beyond.

Argues that the difference between successful and mediocre companies is their organizational health, explaining that an organization is healthy when it is whole, consistent and complete, when its management, operations and culture are unified.

Provides the tools to show students that history is a mystery waiting to be solved, an interpretation to be challenged, and a fabric of human experience in which they take part every day.

Argues that] creating a culture of thinking is more important to learning than any particular curriculum and ... outlines how any school or teacher can accomplish this by leveraging 8 cultural forces: expectations, language, time, modeling, opportunities, routines, interactions, and environment.

[Teacher-librarian Jennifer Casa-Todd argues that] equipping students for their future begins by helping them become digital leaders now. [Moreover, she stresses that] in our networked society, students need to learn how to leverage social media to connect to people, passions, and opportunities to grow and make a difference ... [She presents stories of] kids who are leveraging social media inpositive and powerful ways

Law professor Neil Weinstock Netanel guides readers through the murky dynamics of modern copyright law, answering questions about topics such as the new challenges posed by the digital environment, copyright and piracy in the global marketplace, and proposals for future reform. From the basis and purpose of copyright law to a glimpse at what the law could - or should - become in the digital age, Netanel offers the necessary tools for following the debates that have raged everywhere from internet forums to the halls of Congress

Provides strategies for differentiating instruction in diverse and inclusive classrooms to be sure all students meet standards, and includes real-world scenarios and references

educator Wendy L. Ostroff shows how to foster student curiosity through exploration, novelty, and play; questioning and critical thinking; and experimenting and problem solving

Journalist Paul Tough discusses what he believes creates successful children, looking at why some succeed and others fail and how to move individual children toward their full potential for success

A study on reading habits that explains how to help students become close readers and critical thinkers.

"Readers will: learn more about the rise of fake news, particularly those information behaviors that have perpetuated its spread; discover techniques to identify fake news, especially online; and explore methods to help library patrons of all ages think critically about information, teaching them ways to separate fact from fiction. Information literacy is a . . . skill for all news consumers, and this Special Report shows how librarians can make a difference by helping patrons identify misinformation

Presents a new framework for thinking about education, seeking to prepare students for whatever situations they might face in the future, and provides a toolkit for approaching that goal, with concepts, curriculum criteria, and techniques for prioritizing content

"Tailored specifically to international schools, this resource will guide you through every aspect of PLC [professional learning communities] implementation ... Offer[s] real-world examples, strategies, and techniques to bring ... professional growth to international teachers. Each chapter includes research-based recommendations for and authentic examples of systemic PLC implementation

Discusses a number of ways higher educational students can improve their learning habits.

A guide on how to implement inclusion into the classroom, including strategies on modifying the curriculum for students working below the grade level.

Provides information and advice on developing a professional learning community in schools, and contains case studies, assessments, and strategies for implementing PLC concepts.

Consider[s] the future of the reading brain and its capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection in today's highly digitized world

Drawing on twenty years of research in school effectiveness, this book presents a distributed model of task-based school leadership that leads to continuous school improvement. The book outlines the tasks school leadership teams must focus on to improve teaching and learning, grouped into the following five domains

For years now, leaders in almost every industry have accepted two completely false assumptions--that change is hard, and that engagement drives results. Those beliefs have inspired expensive attempts to shield employees from change, involve them in high-level decision-making, and keep them happy with endless “satisfaction surveys” and workplace perks. But what these engagement programs actually do, Cy Wakeman says, is inflate expectations and sow unhappiness, leaving employees unprepared to adapt to even minor changes necessary to the organization’s survival. Rather than driving performance and creating efficiencies, these programs fuel entitlement and drama, costing millions in time and profit.

A guide for school librarians on meeting and surpassing national standards

John Couch shares the lessons he's learned from Apple's major research study, Apple Classrooms of Tomorrow (ACOT), and its follow-up (ACOT 2), highlighting the effects of the Challenge-Based Learning framework, utilizing science-backed methods and technologies that benefit all students; and discusses how parents, teachers, and voters can ensure children are provided with opportunities and access to the relevant, creative, collaborative, and challenging learning environments they need to succeed.

Provides advice for educators and parents on helping students navigate social media.

Examines the relationship between how children learn and the school environment, describes nearly eighty strategies for improving schools, and includes interviews with child-minded professionals, including children's singer and advocate Raffi, inventor James Dyson, chef Ann Cooper, and others.

Describes the specific qualities and practices of great principals, revealing eighteen things that the most successful principals do and explaining why they are effective in the school setting.

Contains step-by-step guidance for applying visible learning techniques, covering lesson preparation, feedback during lessons, and follow-up afterwards, and includes checklists, exercises, case studies, and best practice scenarios

A collection of fifty tips for teaching students who are struggling.

Discusses approaches to teaching in a digital world, suggesting ways for helping students develop content finding, analysis, presentation, and other skills using multiple media, and examining how to work with administrators to facilitate the process.

Explores applying critical thinking skills in digital environments, improving media literacy.

Discusses a number of ways to turn evaluations, advice, criticisms, and coaching into strategies of productive listening and learning.

Discusses a number of ways to turn evaluations, advice, criticisms, and coaching into strategies of productive listening and learning.

Provides instructional strategies for history teachers and offers sample activities and lessons designed to engage students and improve understanding

Presents a fable about the three virtues of an ideal team player and provides a framework and tools for identifying, hiring, and developing team players.

Argues that the standard instructional practices used by most schools is contributing to the decline of reading, and suggests ways in which teachers and administrators can encourage the development of lifelong readers.