Grade 8 - Social Studies - Resources: Unit 1 - Human Rights

Chronicles the history of the Atlantic Slave Trade from the late 1400s to its demise in the 1800s, discussing African participation in the capturing of slaves and slavery in Colonial America.

Explores the history of antibiotics, and the classes of diseases, infections, and bacteria that benefit from this course of treatment.

From toxic family environments to harassment in the workplace and cyberbullying, LGBTQ+ teens often face bullying beyond the schoolyard. This text explores the issues and lets teens know they're not alone when dealing with this mistreatment.

Offers an in-depth look at what it means to be transgender; and discusses gender, gender stereotypes, and the differences between being a tomboy or an effeminate man and being transgender.

A collection of sixteen essays that provide a variety of perspectives on bullying.

Recounts photographer Lewis Hines' fight against child labor in the early 1900s and discusses how his work and the work of others revealed truths about the issue to the public.

Explores the fundamental questions surrounding capital punishment.

Contains twenty-seven essays that offer varying perspectives on issues related to child labor, discussing human rights, dangers associated with the practice, laws, bans, and other related topics.

This book examines in detail both the process and experience of parish factory apprenticeship, and to illuminate the role played by children in early industrial expansion. It challenges prevailing notions of exploitation which permeate historical discussion of the early labour force and questions both the readiness with which parishes 'offloaded' large numbers of their poor children to distant factories, and the harsh discipline assumed to have been universal among early factory masters.

Provides a candid look at young lives upended by violence and strife around the world, including such nations as Rwanda, Lebanon, and Afghanistan.

Offers factual information about children's rights, providing a brief history of child labor; discussing the rights of teens in the United States, trafficking, and child soldiers; addressing the experiences of children who are forced to marry or are sexually abused; and exploring possible solutions to the problems.

Photographs and text offer an account of the deadly 1999 shootings at Columbine High School in Littleton, Colorado, examining the motivations of teenage killers Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold.

As civil conflict and increasingly dire economic situations spread across areas of the globe, refugees have left their homes in countries such as Afghanistan, Syria, and Somalia in search of a better future for themselves and their children.

A collection of essays on the various sides of the issue of vaccinations.

Explores the deadly shootings at Columbine High School in 1999, examining what happened that day, how the scene was processed by investigators, the motivations of the killers, weapons they used, and lessons learned from the tragedy.

Examining the autobiographies of working men of the 18th and 19th centuries, this book sheds new light on child labour, family life, careers and schooling during the British industrial revolution.

Explores responses from the public, criminal justice system, and victims to discuss the growing problem of internet crimes in our society and addresses how to prevent cyberbullying and stalking in our society.

Through informative text, full-color photographs, discussion questions, and detailed infographics, this volume teaches young adults what abuse looks like and how to get help for themselves or for others if they recognize signs of an abusive situation.

This volume features some of the most innovative work on the history of children and childhood currently being written by both younger and established scholars.

looks at how ISIS is selecting and grooming the next generation of jihadists and what can be done to prevent a generation of lost children.

Explores common LGBT stereotypes that persist both outside and inside the community.

What does it mean to dress like a woman? The photographs in this book depict women--both familiar and unknown--who inhabit [an] intersection of fashion, gender, class, nationality, and race, proving there is no single answer to this question. It provides a comprehensive look at the role of gender and clothing in the workplace.

Examines opposing viewpoints on capital punishment, discussing which countries use it and questions such as whether it makes society safer.

An introduction to the history of the death penalty, ways it is administered, and the arguments for and against it.

A collection of sixteen essays about the legal rights for teens with disabilities.

A collection of essays that explore the history of civil rights in public education.

An introduction to dating violence, explaining what it is, why it happens, and how victims can get help.

A collection of essays that explores arguments over teenagers' rights to education, discussing how the laws pertain to them and exploring legal cases related to the issue.

In the United States, the Constitution guarantees free speech for everyone. This freedom also applies to writing, art, music, and other forms of expression. Still, there are limits. Sometimes students face greater restrictions from their schools. Knowing your rights of free speech can be empowering and encourage people to put forth their beliefs, opinions, and ideas.

Addresses some of the issues surrounding the debate over freedom of information in various areas of the world.

covers the violence that occurred at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School on Wednesday, February 14, 2018, and the student activism for stronger gun control laws that followed.

Examines the tragic shooting at Columbine High School on April 20, 1999, including detailed reports of the horrific events, background on the killers, and the aftermath of the shooting.

Presents a study of the constitutional right to religious freedom in the United States, exploring its history, times it has been put to the test, its application in education, business, and the military, and more.

Examines the issue of gay marriage, including primary and secondary source quotations and study questions.

Provides the tools and resources to organize a Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) and to become a proactive leader in a community. Also included in the guide are educational activities, tips for being a good ally to LGBTQ+ people of color, and a myths & facts section that debunks common assumptions about Gay-Straight Alliances.

A collection of critical essays that debates the issue of gays in the military that includes model essays and writing exercises designed to help students research, outline, draft, edit, and write essays.

Readers will find a concise explanation of what constitutes domestic violence, so they can better recognize it when they see or experience it.

Follows girls who are coming of age in the developing world and confronting barriers to their education.

Provides opposing views on issues related to bullies and bullying.

Describes what life was like, especially for children, in coal mines and mining towns in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Health care reform has been at the center of political debate during the past. Everyone agrees the . . . system needs changes, but it seems few people can agree on how many changes and what kind. Some believe it simply needs a few small adjustments, while others believe it should be completely scrapped and rebuilt from the ground up. Graphs, full-color photographs, annotated quotes, . . . and . . . sidebars augment the . . . text to present readers with all sides of the issue, helping them form their own opinions and strengthen their critical-thinking skills.

Explore beyond the headlines on the topic of human rights, learning how this issue is treated in the news and how to separate truth from spin"--Provided by publish er.

Explores the history, structure, and activities of the United Nation as they pursue their goal of protecting individuals and securing human rights for everyone.

Globally, millions of people live in modern day slavery. Men, women, and children across the world are subject to forced labor and sexual exploitation at the hands of human traffickers. The challenges human trafficking victims face, the efforts to eradicate this crime, and how to assist victims are discussed.

Discusses the challenges refugees face as they flee poverty and violence in their home countries, and the conditions they endure while waiting for opportunities to resettle in other countries.

Text and color illustrations explore human rights, and they role they play in protecting freedom, equality, justice, and peace.

Provides an in-depth look at the current state of human rights across the continent.

This volume features A-L biographies of activists, writers, environmentalists, lawyers, philosophers, political leaders, scientists, and Nobel Prize recipients who have had an impact on human rights initiatives since the 1960.

Explores human rights today and how human rights have developed over time.

Text and color illustrations explore basic human rights around the world, and what it means to be denied access to education, religious and political beliefs, and freedom of expression.

Immigration laws are designed to manage immigrant populations, reassert a nations boundaries, and help define what it means to be a citizen of a given country and all of this is meant to be carried out humanely and without discrimination. But some argue that these protections are not enough to guarantee the welfare and human rights of immigrants who enter the country illegally. Those rights, and whether they are being violated, are among the topics examined.

A discussion of hate crimes, explaining what they are and why they occur, looking at instances of hate crimes in the U.S. and around the world, and considering the future of hate crime laws.

This book discusses how governments and paramilitary groups engage in genocide and the destruction of national, ethnic, racial, or religious groups. The perpetrators and victims of genocide are examined, along with efforts to eliminate the scourge.

Every day, about 70,000 young people are detained within the U.S. criminal justice system. Thousands of them are tried as adults, and housed in adult prisons. Once in detention centers and jails, young people are vulnerable to violence and sexual abuse.

The first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution were written to safeguard individual liberties and limit government power. Was the Bill of Rights necessary, or did it open up a can of worms the framers didn't intend? Throughout the course of U.S. history, amendments have been subject to various interpretations, often to the point of contention. In this . . . anthology, readers will be exposed to the complex issues of interpreting a document that was created more than two hundred years ago

With the promise of glorious holy war and a wife, more than 20,000 foreign fighters flowed into Iraq and Syria, leaving the Islamic State hard-pressed to provide enough wives for the fighters. With the number of foreign women estimated at a few hundred, ISIS has turned to draconian measures like slavery, temporary marriages, and even child brides. Women captives of the group who managed to escape tell tales of terror and abuse despite the glowing promises of those who recruit women for the so-called Islamic State. This book explores the dangers for women and girls caught in the path of ISIS and how they're used by the group as both rewards for fighters and as warriors in their own right.

Text and accompanying photographs show the use of children as industrial workers, interwoven with the story of Lewis W. Hine who took these photographs and whose life work made significant difference in the lives of others

Explores the life and career of director Lana Wachowski who was born male, but identified as female, and transitioned into her true identity as an adult.

Focuses on the status of equal rights for LGBTQ communities in the United States

From the Compton's Cafeteria and Stonewall riots in the 1960s, to the decriminalization of homosexuality, and marriage rights, this thoughtful title examines the continuing fight for LGBTQ human and legal rights. Using fascinating primary and secondary source material, readers will gain insight into this evolving rights movement and be encouraged to think critically about the concepts of rights and freedoms in democratic societies. The effects of harmful stereotypes with respect to sexual orientation and gender identity are also discussed.

In 1963, more than 30 African American girls, ages 11-14, were arrested for taking part in Civil Rights protests in Americus, Georgia. Then came a greater ordeal: confinement in a Civil-War-era stockade.

Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai, a young woman from Pakistan, was denied the privilege of attending school, shot by terrorists, and forced to leave her country. Her near assassination convinced Malala that God had kept her alive for a reason. She would continue to fight for children's rights to education.

Looks as the life of Malala Yousafzai, a young Pakistani woman who was shot by the Taliban for sharing her views about education for and the unfair treatment of girls and women and won the Nobel Peace Prize.

A look at the life and activism of Malala Yousafzai.

A collection of essays on incarceration in the United States from multiple points of view.

Two survivors of the Stoneman Douglas High School shooting in Parkland, Florida discuss the making of the #NeverAgain movement.

Provides an in depth examination of the events surrounding the deadly mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012.

Readers learn the ways activism has changed in the Internet era. The informative text is supplemented with detailed charts and annotated quotes presenting multiple points of view.

As much as most people value their privacy, the amount of information they share freely on social media is astounding. While this sharing may help create communities, security experts say it also destroys privacy.

Describes what peer pressure is, why it can be dangerous, how to handle it safely, and offers real stories of kids who have faced peer pressure.

Examines the impact poverty has on society as a whole, identifies its underlying causes, discusses how it is addressed by the government, and describes its impact on a person's mental health.

Explores how the world is affected by poverty and economic inequality, including how to help and more.

Discusses systematic procedures for assessing the threat of school violence, covering the psychology and motivations of school shooters; correlations between risk behaviors and the likelihood of school weapons possession; data from the Gun-Free Schools Act; and school-based mental health interventions.

Presents a collection of essays that examine opposing views on the issue of privacy, including information on security, technology, sexuality and reproduction, and public interest.

Explores the history and consequences of racial profiling through research and personal stories.

Text and illustrations look at refugees from a range of perspectives, discussing how it feels to be a refugee, how refugees travel to a new home, laws about refugees, and more.

Presents an examination of reproductive rights through different perspectives.

Discusses the reproductive rights of men and women throughout history.

A discussion on the right of a child to a clean environment. This work links two important contemporary issues: human rights and the environment.

Examines the issue of school shootings, discussing why they occur, who the shooters are, what can be done to prevent future school shootings and more.

Provides facts about slavery and the slave trade and includes detailed information on how to effectively research the topic.

Antibiotics, pesticides, and hormones play a big role in modern agriculture. They help prevent disease and death and promote growth in animals and plants. Still, their use is controversial since they can also have negative consequences for our health and a negative impact on our environment.

Discusses the creation and execution of the Bill of Rights in the early days of the United States.

Discusses a number of issues related to gender discrimination in the workplace.

Discusses the main concerns of the womens' movement in the 1960s, and how those have evolved since; what's changed for the better, what might be worse, and where do we go from here.

A collection of editorials and reports on school shootings that provide a broad history of events and debates and show how public reactions are changing.

Provides information about sexual orientation and gender identity.

Provides opposing views on issues related to social media.

readers will learn about social activism and how they can participate in inspiring positive changes for our society. They'll discover how to advocate for the changes they wish to see in society by raising awareness, petitioning, protesting, demonstrating, and garnering support.

provides resources and strategies for helping LGBTQ+ students overcome bullying and maintain their well-being.

Styron's irreverent and informative primer on how to make a difference is organized into three sections: The Why, The What, and The How. The book opens with a personal essay and a historic look at civil disobedience and teenage activism in America.

A look at transgenderism, discussing its history, violence and prejudice against transgender people, related medical topics, transgender rights around the world, and more.

Discusses a number of legal issues that surround transgender people in the United States.

Looks at the lives of child soldiers around the world, discussing their role in world events and the circumstances of their daily lives, and helps readers understand how teen soldiers' lives are similar to other teens' in ways both big and small.

Discusses the science of sexual identity and the nature versus nurture debate.

The United Nations (UN) works to promote international peace and friendly relations between different countries. Canada has helped to further these objectives by participating in several UN programs. This title explores the history of the UN, significant Canadian contributions to the UN, and the various roles Canada has played in the UN.

Covers the history of poverty in the United States, explaining what poverty looks like today and highlighting key players and efforts to reduce poverty in the country.

Presents a collection of seventeen essays from both perspectives addressing the debate between free speech and hate speech.

From limiting the working day to eight hours to forming unions and protecting children in the labor force, the rights of workers has long been, and still remains, a fascinating and important topic. This title weaves through the history of workers' rights using engaging primary sources, following multiple perspectives of differing groups including women, children, and immigrants.

practical ideas for working with teachers, parents, administrators, and other students to make their schools safe and welcoming for LGBTQ+ students.

Text and color illustrations explore rights within the LGBTQ community, and the fight for social, ethical, and legal freedoms for minority groups.