Grade 7 - Social Studies - Resources: Unit 3 - World Religions

Looks at Buddhism, the fourth-largest religion, discussing its history, what Buddhists believe, how they worship and more.

Discover Christianity, one of the world's great religions by learning history, customs, prayers and the part these play in worship.

Examines the origins, development, beliefs, and forms of Christianity, looks at how Christians worship and celebrate their faith, discusses the Christian response to modern issues, and includes the testimony of a Christian teen.

Presents a short study of the history and growth of Christianity, Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox traditions, Christian teachings and holy days, and more.

Looks at Christianity, considered to be the largest religious faith, discussing its history, how Christians celebrate their faith, how they worship and more.

Looks at Christianity through the perspectives of history, geography, civics, and economics.

A biography of human rights activist Malcolm X, discussing his early struggles with racism, rise to fame as the public face of the Nation of Islam, personal hardships, and legacy.

Describes the festival fun of Divali, one of Hindu festival that celebrates the triumph of good over evil and brings new hopes for happiness and prosperity.

Enjoy a trip around the world through religious and cultural celebrations. Each title focuses on one holiday season and explains the sacred and secular history behind the festivity.

Provides information about the origins, beliefs, and customs of all the major world religions, as well as a selection of lesser-known faiths, and includes descriptions of sacred places, sayings from each religion, and Internet links for additional study.

An introduction to Christianity that discusses its origins, teachings, beliefs, sacred text, rituals, and other related topics.

An introduction to Hinduism that discusses its origins, teachings, beliefs, sacred texts, rituals, art, and other related topics.

Information on widely practiced faiths, as well as less common spiritual beliefs; Compares festivals, sacred books, places of worship and holy days

An illustrated guide to the cultural and scientific contributions made by Muslims during the Middle Ages that are present in the twenty-first century, discussing numbers, marching bands, orange juice, and more.

Through this engaging work, readers will gain a better understanding of the everyday aspects of Muslim American life, to dispel many of the misconceptions that still remain and open a dialogue for tolerance and acceptance.

Presents a short study of the history and development of Hinduism, Hindu teachings and holy books, religious ceremonies, and more.

Provides an introduction to Hinduism, explaining what it is, the origins of the faith, how Hindus live and worship, how the religion has changed over time, and the challenges facing Hindus in the twenty-first century. Includes a look at the life of a Hindu teenager in England.

Explores the major religions of the Eastern world, including Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism, and Buddhism. From Hindu gods and goddesses to life in a Buddhist monastery, it reveals the origins of each religion, the key elements of its belief systems, and the appeal of Eastern religions to the West.

Looks at Hinduism, one of the world's oldest religions, discussing its history, sacred texts, how the faith is practiced and more.

Based on the celebrated five-volume set published in 2005, this updated one-volume edition offers readers a concise yet complete understanding of the interplay between the major religions and human rights.

The perfect illustrated source to identify and compare world religions, key figures and major events.

Presents a short study of Islam, its principal teachings, places of worship, community life, and more.

Looks at Islam, the second largest religion, discussing its history, how the faith is practiced and more.

Presents a comprehensive history of Islam and describes the origin and spread of Islam, Muhammad and the Qur'an, Islamic culture and traditions, the Crusades, scholars and teachers, and more.

Islam is practiced by almost one billion Muslims worldwide. World Faiths: Islam covers the life and teachings of the prophet Muhammad, as well as the development and history of Islam, the sacred text of the Koran, and important geographic locations like Mecca and Medina.

Provides an introduction to Islam, explaining what Muslims believe, the origins of the faith, how Muslims worship and celebrate, and modern day challenges to Islamic values. Includes a look at the life of a Muslim teenager in England.

The volumes in the 'Introducing Islam' series will help readers understand Islam and the Muslim world.

The volumes in the 'Introducing Islam' series will help readers understand Islam and the Muslim world.

Examines the history of the Islamic fundamentalist movement and discusses the 1979 Iranian Revolution and other extremist activities.

This volume presents a wealth of statistical and background information on more than 20 Asian nations with significant Muslim populations. The book also provides a valuable overview of the Islamic faith and chronicles the history of Islam's spread into Asia.

Introduction to religions through stories about their central figures.

Discover Judaism, one of the world's great religions by learning history, customs, prayers and the part these play in worship.

Looks at Judaism, the first of the world's monotheistic religions, discussing its history, how the faith is practiced and more.

This enlightening series introduces readers to religions through stories about their central figures.

Discusses how Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism view homosexuality, and how lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people of faith navigate within those traditions.

Readers will be fascinated and inspired by the adventures and teachings of such spiritual leaders as Jesus and Muhammad, and will gain an appreciation for the beauty of different faiths.

An introduction to the world's seven major religions.

Describes the traditional Islamic month-long fast, Ramadan, and the festival of Id al-Fitr, which marks the end of Ramadan.

Muslims fast and pray during the holy month of Ramadan, then celebrate the end of fasting with the holiday of Id al-Fitr.

Explore the fascinating practices, the sacred rituals, and the important role religion plays in cultures around the world.

Clear examples and helpful explanations to untangle often complex ideas. The book really explains the way the world works.

Discusses the religions of the world and their festivals, rituals, beliefs, ceremonial objects, and history.

Examines the various forms of rights given to citizens in a democracy including rights to religious freedom, human rights, minority rights, and the rights to cultural expression.

Current facts, personal stories, and key debates provide an overview of Sikhism, its beliefs, and traditions.

Describes what happens inside a mosque and introduces the Muslim faith.

The volumes in the 'Introducing Islam' series will help readers understand Islam and the Muslim world.

The volumes in the 'Introducing Islam' series will help readers understand Islam and the Muslim world.

Discover Islam, one of the world's great religions by learning history, customs, prayers and the part these play in worship.

An introduction to Buddhism that discusses its origins, teachings, beliefs, sacred texts, art, rituals, and other related topics.

From the early history of Judaism to the festivals celebrated today, World Faiths: Judaism is the definitive guide to the world's oldest monotheistic religion.

World Religions looks at the beliefs and practices of many different religions, from the ancient Egyptians through to Zoroastrianism - the oldest living religion - and the great faiths practiced today. Each of the major faiths - Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, and Islam.

A collection of insightful, stimulating and accessible introductions to the histories, beliefs and practices of religions from pre-historic times to twenty-first century developments.